Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sundance Film Festival Award Winners Announced (Updating Live)

The Sundance Movie Festival is revealing award winners for its 2022 model on Friday afternoon foundation at 2 p.m. PT. Esteem the rest of this 365 days’s competition, which modified into once compelled to head all-virtual because of the of the present Omicron surge, the awards ceremony is taking half in out on Twitter.

Winners will seemingly be announced in the U.S. Dramatic, U.S. Documentary, World Dramatic and World Documentary competitions as effectively as the Next and the Short Movie sidebars. Viewers Awards, Mammoth Jury and Particular Jury Prizes will seemingly be bestowed.

Closing 365 days’s awards solidified the bona fides of CODA, which played in the U.S. Dramatic Competitors and modified into once swept up by Apple in a fest-file $25 million deal. That pic, directed by Siân Heder, also swept on the fest’s awards evening, taking four trophies in all including the Viewers Award, Directing award, the Mammoth Jury Prize and a Particular Jury Prize for the ensemble. It’s now an Oscar frontrunner.

This 365 days’s class is more difficult to gauge, with acquisition job significantly muted and in-person reactions to Park City screenings no longer a component. Silent, Deadline broke gargantuan deals led all all over again by Apple, which paid $15 million for world rights to Cooper Raiff’s Cha Cha Proper Tender. Searchlight Pictures closed a deal for around $7.5 million for U.S. rights to Factual Luck to You, Leo Grande, starring Emma Thompson and Daryl McCormack, while Sony Pictures Classics paid about $5 million for North American and some international territory rights to the Invoice Nighy-starrer Residing.

On the documentary aspect, National Geographic picked up Fire of Take care of in a mid-seven-figure world rights deal, then followed that by acquiring The Territory.

Beneath will seemingly be a checklist of this 365 days’s winners as they’re being published. Take checking help as we change it.


Particular Jury Award: Acting

Teresa Sánchez

Dos Estaciones (Mexico)


Viewers Award

Framing Agnes (Canada/U.S.)

Director: Skedaddle Joynt


Mammoth Jury Prize

The Headhunter’s Daughter (Philippines)

Director-author: Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan

Jury Award: U.S. Fiction

If I Rush Will They Omit Me (U.S.)

Director-author: Walter Thompson-Hernández

Jury Award: International Fiction

Warsha (France/Lebanon)

Director-author: Dania Bdeir

Jury Award: Nonfiction

Displaced (Kosovo)

Director-author: Samir Karahoda

Jury Award: Animation

Night Bus (Taiwan)

Director-author: Joe Hsieh

Particular Jury Award: Ensemble Forged

Zélia Duncan, Bruna Linzmeyer, Camila Rocha, Clarissa Ribeiro and Lorre Motta

A wild patience has taken me here (Brazil)

Director-author: Érica Sarmet

Particular Jury Award: Screenwriting

Sara Driver

Stranger Than Rotterdam with Sara Driver (U.S.)

Administrators: Lewie Kloster, Noah Kloster; Author: Sara Driver


Alfred P. Sloan Characteristic Movie Prize

After Yang

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Nonfiction

Su Kim, Free Chol Soo Lee (U.S. Documentary Competitors)

Sundance Institute | Amazon Studios Producers Award for Fiction

Amanda Marshall, God’s Country (Premieres)

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Modifying Nonfiction

Toby Shimin

Sundance Institute | Adobe Mentorship Award for Modifying Fiction

Dody Dorn

Sundance Institute | NHK Award

Hasan Hadi, The President’s Cake

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.