With more than a billion users, Instagram is one of the most popular social networks in the world today. It’s the eighth-biggest online community, behind Facebook and other fellow Facebook-owned companies Messenger and WhatsApp. Removing dedicated messaging apps from that list leaves Instagram as the third-largest social network in the world and the second-largest in North America. It’s an incredibly important platform for both users and brands.
Of course, there comes a time when you might want to disconnect from your social platforms, and not just temporarily. More often than ever, people are choosing to delete their social media presence to live a life less focused on online culture. Whether you’re trying to protect your future job aspects by deleting your social media, or you’re just trying to reach for your phone a little bit less, deleting your social media accounts may lead to a healthier life.
Permanently deleting your Instagram account may seem like a major step, but if you’re ready to be free of your account and to get some spare time back in your life, it’s easy to carry out. Let’s take a look at how to delete your Instagram account for good.
How to delete your Instagram account Follow these steps
Before deleting your Instagram account, you should carefully consider if you really want to do that. You cannot reactivate your account and you’ll lose all your content, followers, comments and likes forever. If there’s a chance you might want to restore everything later, consider your account instead of deleting it.
You can´t delete an Instagram accound by using the app on your smartphone. You have to use a browser on your computer or smartphone.
- Log into Instagram
Log into Instagram using a (mobile) browser.
- You need to know the delete Instagram account Link
There is a page called “Delete Your Account”, but you won´t find it by clicking around. You must know the exact link. Click on or type the following URL: https://www.instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/
- Choose an option
Choose an option to answer the question of why you want to delete your account
- Click the red button
After you´ve chosen an answer, a red button will appear:”Permanently delete my account”.
- Re-enter your password.
Re-enter your password. Then click or tap on the red buttoto permanently delete your account.
- Your profile and your information will be deleted.
Your profile and your information will be permanently deleted 30 days after your deletion request. It can take up to 90 days to delete all your content, but it won’t be visible to other users during this time.
If you’re disabling or deleting your Instagram account because of an individual or a group of individuals, you really don’t have to do it. You can easily block people and stop them from communicating with you. If you’re tired of seeing their content, you can just unfollow them.
To block someone on Instagram, first go to their profile. Once on their profile screen, go to the upper-right corner. You’ll see a three-dot icon. Tap it. A menu will pop up. Select the Block option and confirm. Even if you confirm, don’t worry as you can unblock the profile at any moment.
To unblock a person that you’ve blocked, go to their profile and you’ll see an Unblock option, right where you’d usually the Follow/Unfollow button.
But what does this mean? What happens when a person is blocked? First of all, the person in question won’t be notified. However, they won’t be able to access your profile either, as if you’ve deleted your account. So, blocking is a nice way to hide your account from some people.
Bear in mind that the blocked person will be able to find out. There is a way to check whether a user has disabled/deleted their profile or merely blocked you. If you try to tag a person who blocked you, you’ll be able to do it. If you try and tag a deleted/disabled profile, no suggestions will appear. Of course, even if they tag you, you won’t be notified.
How to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account
Take a break from Instagram without losing all your followers and posts: instead of deleting your account, you can just disable it for a certain period of time. This is, once again, an option that you can only use in a browser.
- Log into Instagram in a browser on your computer or smartphone.
- Open your profile and then click or tap “Edit profile”.
- Scroll down. On the bottom right click “Temporarily disable my account”.
- You’ll have to choose an answer to let Instagram know why you want to disable your account.
- After choosing an answer, you’ll see the option to deactivate your account.
- Re-enter your password. And then click or tap “Temporarily Disable Account”.
How to Save Your Account Data
Before deleting your account, you might want to save a permanent record of your posts, comments, and profile information. When you delete your account, Instagram will do just that: delete your account and everything on it. That means all of your photos, likes, and comments will be permanently removed. To save your account data, follow these steps:
- Go to your Instagram profile and select ‘Settings‘ (gear icon).
- Click on the ‘Privacy & Security’ tab and click ‘Request Download’.
- Enter the email addresswhere you would like to receive a link to your Instagram data, followed by your password.
- Within 48 hours you should receive an email with a link to your data, titled ‘Your Instagram Data’. Click ‘Download Data’.
Within 48 hours, Instagram will email a complete file of your profile to the email address you provided, containing your photos, comments, profile information, and everything else you may need to access in the future. Even if you think you’ll never need this data again, it’s an important step to ensuring that your data is protected if you ever want to view it again. If you don’t do this, you’ll be losing out on your data completely—and you’ll never get it back, no matter how hard you try.
Deactivating Your Instagram Account
If you are only looking for a break from Instagram, don’t be rash. Consider disabling your account instead of deleting it. Disabling will log you out and hide your profile. As far as your followers are concerned, you may as well have deleted the account. But as far as you’re concerned, you can return any time by simply logging back in. Follow these steps to disable your account:
- Go to Instagram.com from your browser (you cannot do this from the app).
- Log in, if prompted to do so.
- Click or tap on the profile icon in the upper right-hand corner.
- Click or tap Profile then Edit Profile.
- Scroll down and tap Temporarily disable my account to the right of the Submit button.
- You will be asked why you are doing this. Select an option from the drop-down menu.
- Re-enter your account password.
- Click or tap “Temporarily Disable Account.”
- Note that you may only disable your Instagram account once each week, per Instagram’s policies.
Deactivating vs Deleting: What You Need to Know
You can both deactivate and permanently delete your Instagram account, depending on your preference.
Deactivating your account is temporary, but whilst it is deactivated, your account, along with your profile, followers, photos, like, and comments will be hidden from other users. To restore all of this information and start using Instagram normally again, simply log back into your account.
Deleting your Instagram account cannot be undone – a deleted account cannot be restored. When you delete your Instagram account, all of your data, including photos, followers, likes, etc. will be deleted for good. In the future, if you choose to sign up to Instagram again, you won’t be able to use the same username again, nor will anyone else.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are some more answers to your questions about deleting Instagram.
How long does Instagram keep my data after I delete my account?
Can I delete my child’s account?
Unfortunately no. At least, not without the users’ login information. Instagram’s policy on account deletion states that only the account owner can delete the account using the instructions above.
By resetting and deleting your Instagram account for good, you can finally give yourself some personal time back, to escape and leave behind the ever-present slog of online culture. Of course, temporarily your account is a good option if you’re looking to get away for a while, but otherwise, delete away to protect your account—and your sanity. Do you have any experience or questions regarding deleting an Instagram account? Please share with us in the comment section below.