Press "Enter" to skip to content

DGA Awards Movie Nominations: Spielberg, Campion, Villeneuve, Branagh, Anderson Vie For Top Director Prize

West Facet Account‘s Steven Spielberg, The Vitality of the Dog‘s Jane Campion, Dune‘s Denis Villeneuve, Licorice Pizza‘s Paul Thomas Anderson and Kenneth Branagh of Belfast had been nominated for the head characteristic film prize because the Administrators Guild unveiled nominations Thursday for its 74th annual DGA Awards.

Winners will almost definitely be announced March 12 in an in-particular person ceremony on the Beverly Hilton.

The guild, a actual predictor of Oscar success historically, lacking the eventual Finest Director winner handiest eight times in 73 years, also handed out noms for its First-Time Feature Movie category, with nominees along with Lin-Manuel Miranda for Tick, Tick…Order!, Maggie Gyllenhaal for The Lost Daughter, Rebecca Hall for Passing, Michael Sarnoski for Pig, Emma Seligman for Shiva Baby and Tatiana Huezo for Mexico’s Oscar Global Feature-shortlisted Prayers for the Stolen.

Remaining year, the guild awarded Chloé Zhao its top film prize for Nomadland, which marked the latest step for Zhao and the film on the path to successful Finest Director and Finest Image on the Oscars. Varied winners a year ago had been Darius Marder for Sound of Steel within the First Time Feature Movie category, and Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw in Documentary for The Truffle Hunters.

This year, the DGA eligibility duration ran from March 1-December 31, 2021, in lockstep with the 2022 Oscars, with motion photos required to have a seven-day theatrical speed if they had been released June 15, 2021 or later. The guild said that for theatrical characteristic motion photos released from March 1-June 14, no theatrical is required — an exception carried over from remaining year owing to pandemic constraints.

The DGA Awards’ ceremony March 12 can even characteristic Spike Lee receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award for Infamous Achievement in Race Image Direction, the guild’s highest honor. Others receiving honorary awards encompass first Assistant Director Joseph P. Reidy getting the Frank Capra Achievement Award and stage supervisor Garry W. Hood the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award.

The DGA revealed its TV, documentary and industrial noms earlier this week, with critically all five nominees for Dramatic Series are episodes of HBO’s Succession. On the Comedy Series aspect, Apple TV ’s Ted Lasso is a triple nominee alongside HBO Max’s Hacks and HBO’s The White Lotus.

Here’s the paunchy listing of DGA Awards nominees:


Paul Thomas Anderson

Licorice Pizza

(Metro Goldwyn Mayer Photos/United Artists Releasing)

Unit Production Manager: Sue McNamara

First Assistant Director: Adam Somner

2d Assistant Director: Trevor Tavares

2d 2d Assistant Administrators: Kasia Trojak, Bob Riley, David Marnell

Kenneth Branagh


(Focus Aspects)

Jane Campion

The Vitality of the Dog


Steven Spielberg

West Facet Account

(20th Century Studios)

Unit Production Managers: Carla Raij, Daniel Lupi

First Assistant Director: Adam Somner

2d Assistant Director: Jeremy Marks

Assistant Unit Production Manager: Robert T. Striem

2d 2d Assistant Director: Josh Muzaffer

Extra 2d Assistant Director: Billy Brennan

Location Managers: Robert T. Striem, Katherine Delaney

Denis Villeneuve


(Warner Bros. Photos)

Unit Production Managers: Joe Caracciolo, Jr., James Grant

First Assistant Director: Chris Carreras

2d Assistant Director: Tom Rye


Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Lost Daughter


Rebecca Hall



Tatiana Huezo

Prayers for the Stolen


Lin-Manuel Miranda

Tick, Tick… Order!


Unit Production Manager: Deb Dyer

First Assistant Director: Mariela Comitini

2d Assistant Administrators: Josh A. Muzaffer, Luca Waldman

2d 2d Assistant Administrators: Melissa Morphet, Lincoln Fundamental

Extra 2d Assistant Director: Zach Citarella

Location Manager: Ryan Smith

Michael Sarnoski



Emma Seligman

Shiva Baby


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.